Computational Acoustics Awards

The CA TSG sponsors a Young/Early Career Presenter Award at each meeting. Three awards are made of up to USD $250 each.


To qualify for an award, the paper author must:

  • be a current student or early career professional who completed his/her final degree within the past 5 years
  • be listed as the first author of the paper and actually present the paper

The Award Subcommittee would like to consider papers by all authors who meet the eligibility criteria. Neither membership in the Acoustical Society, nor previous experience in the ASA, is required.



Because the committees have no other way to identify eligible authors, it is essential that eligible authors indicate their intention to enter the competition during the abstract submission process by clicking the entry box on the online submission form. Late entrants cannot be accepted.



Selection of the award winners will be based on the quality of the presented paper, comprising both the content and its delivery. The award winners will be announced after the close of the meeting.

Past Award Winners:


Fall 2021 – Seattle

  • Aaron Charous: Optimal reduced-order solution to the 3D deterministic parabolic wave equation
  • Connor Kaplan: Using the lattice Boltzmann method and GPU computing to model flow in organ pipes
  • (Tie) James Albritton: Shallow water transmission loss inversion for seafloor characterization
  • (Tie) Alex Higgins: Implementation and analysis of high-performance computing for underwater acoustic modeling applications


Spring 2021 – Acoustics in Focus

No competition was held.


Fall 2020 – Acoustics Virtually Everywhere

  • Philipp Schäfer: Ray tracing for efficient simulation of curved sound propagation paths: Towards real-time auralization of aircraft noise
  • Jonathan Broyles: Investigation of optimization techniques on structural-acoustical shaped concrete slabs in buildings
  • Trevor Wilson: Modeling infrasound propagation from tornado producing storms